Citizens of the EU, European Economic Area and Switzerland can use EasyPASS

Easy arrivals and departures: Holders of electronic passports (ePassports) from the European Union, the European Economic Area and Switzerland can use EasyPASS to enter and leave the Schengen area.

To enjoy the benefits of reduced waiting time and separate border control lanes (eGates) you must be at least 18 years old. German nationals also have the possibility of using the automated border control system with the new German identity card.

But a word of caution: the German identity card may not be a valid entry document in the country of destination. Please check in advance with the appropriate embassy or consulate.

Moreover, the system is also available to holders of passports of the U.S. and Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. For further Information see: EasyPASS-RTP.

EU- and EWR-states

Citizens of the following countries can use EasyPASS:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Schweden
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • The Netherlands
  • United Kingdom
Logo Internal Security Fund

© German Federal Police 2016 - 2018. All rights reserved.